The Ship and Turtle is where it all began….

The idea of forming the Brotherhood of Centurions was conceived by E.R. Bob Gillespie, who walked 106 miles non stop in a 24 hour race in 1908. The formation meeting was held at the Ship and Turtle, situated at 131, Leadenhall Street, London on 11 May 1911.


At this inaugural meeting James Edwin Fowler Dixon was  the senior person present and had the longest standing qualifying performance (34 years).  In recognition he was elected President for Life and his performance marked by recognising him as Centurion 1.