1980 Leicester (Congerstone) 100 miles

98 walkers started the race, a new record for a Leicester race. The race started from the town centre and proceeded west for 13 miles to join a 10½ mile circuit just outside the village of Congerstone. After 7 laps of this circuit the walkers retraced their steps back to the start.

64 were successful in this event.

The winner for a record breaking sixth time in his career was Dave Boxall C464 by just under 20 minutes from the first of 28 new Centurions, Tony Collins C688 of Birmingham. The time gap and even the result might have been different but for the fact that Tony went off course during the night, costing him about 8 minutes. Freddie Baker C266 completed his 10th 100 and there were 4 new Dutch Centurions, bringing their total up to 125, 17½% of the registered members.

1980 Leicester (Congerstone) 100 miles – Results